Sermon: More Underneath

“More Underneath”

(March 20, 2011) Jesus challenges his listeners to find and understand the deeper meaning of his words, the more-than-literal meaning,* especially in this passage where he tells Nicodemus about being born from above (or again). Are we sure that we are going deep enough in our understanding of Jesus? Is it possible that we too have just seen the surface of what he means by “eternal life”? Is it in fact something fuller and richer and deeper than merely escaping death? (John 3:1-17)

I preached this sermon the day before I got my copy of Rob Bell’s Love Wins, which is interesting because I freely admit in it that I don’t know exactly what we might mean by “eternal life,” and now I’m pondering that all the more as I read, but that’s the subject of another blog post after I finish the book.

* In this sermon, I reference Marcus Borg, The Heart of Christianity, where he speaks of reading the Bible for its more-than-literal meaning.

2 Responses

  1. Very inspiring Becca. Your congregation was with you all the way even though they were not fans of Lake Woebegone. Your reference to Rob Bell’s new book is also timely. Blessings to you in your ministry!

    • Thanks! I was surprised by the lack of Garrison Keillor fans, but apart from that we did seem to be on the same page. I’m glad I can admit that I have questions and am still working on my faith. It seems like other pastors are in places where that is not acceptable, and I feel lucky to have the opportunity to serve honestly.

      Shalom,
      Becca

Leave a Reply

