Day Off

Mondays are my sabbath days, but that doesn’t necessarily mean a day of rest. Sometimes, what really rejuvenates me is getting to do projects I love or to dream about ministry (and maybe even do a little of it, which I don’t consider cheating) without being ‘on the clock.’

So for example, today, on my day off, I:

  • took out the garbage. Okay, it doesn’t sound exciting, but it’s very purging.
  • did some weeding in the vegetable garden and put down some landscape fabric to keep the weeds down in the future. Again, it may not sound like rest, but I was out in nature, getting some (rare) sun, and had a great feeling of achievement.
  • had an impromptu video conference to discuss ideas about a program to help agencies and their resources better interface with people without housing or on the brink of being without housing. A passion of mine, and a discussion made possible by the wonders of internet technology.
  • talked with another group at church about rearranging some space use for a new project, yet to be unveiled. That might sound like work, but it was so uplifting!
  • called the congregant whose dream is the aforementioned new project, and asked him to come in tomorrow and begin the process of making it a reality. I didn’t see his face (no video conference, sadly), but even the sound of his voice was enough to know that moments like that are why I went into ministry.
  • managed to utterly confuse myself with my bills and checkbook, but sort it all out in the end, which again, is such a feeling of accomplishment (and relief!)
  • thought a little more about the ideas I’ve been having for sermons the next two weeks (I’m never that far ahead!) and for a series in September.
  • ran a mile and a quarter.

Now that’s a day that gets me feeling refreshed, revved up, and ready for the week ahead!

3 Responses

  1. Becca, wanted to leave an inspiration for someone else.
    http://kansasmediocrity.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/i-met-a-saint-today/

    I cried like a baby writing this….

  2. I’m taking a day off tomorrow because I’m burnt out. The main thing I can do to get better this time around is sleep. Typically, I just like to keep things to a minimum on my planner if I can…on my days off.

    • Peter,

      Sometimes sleep is the best medicine. I’ve been known to spend most of a day off either sleeping or reclining with a book (and I mean a novel, not something I’m reading for work!). I keep my planner empty, but do the things that feel refreshing.

      Be blessed and rejuvenated today. I hope you find a little spark of joy and peace to chase the burnout away!

      Blessings (and thanks for commenting!),
      Becca

Leave a Reply

