In the midst of life, we are in death

Please excuse the interruption from the planned reflections on Christmas Eve and sharing of Christmas cheer. The death, yesterday morning, of my mother’s partner of 19 years, Jon, has thrown our family into a bit of chaos.

We knew this would happen someday, and I spent every day of the last year I lived in New York wondering how quickly I could be at my mom’s side when she called to tell me the news. I never imagined that I would take the phone call at 10 am the day after Christmas and tell her myself by the look on my face.

5 Responses

  1. Praying for your mom, Becca, and for you as well.

    I hope you find the strength to walk through the family as “the pastor person” and the courage to allow someone “from the outside” to pastor to you too.

  2. Becca, my prayers are with you! Sounds like this will be a new space for you to be in this week – a major death where you are are a pastor not “the” pastor, and you’ll have your own grief. May you find God’s grace in unexpected places this week!

  3. Oh, honey, I’m so sorry!

    We will keep all of you in our prayers.

  4. Becca- Know that you and your family are in my prayers.

  5. Thank you all very much!
    Becca

Leave a Reply

