When Hollywood Preaches

I made it through another tough morning– I couldn’t say the closing prayer at the end of my last Church Council meeting because I was getting choked up (over church council? yes, hush!).

My sermon was okay. Not the best–I’ve certainly spoken more convincingly about the way of nonviolence before.

Then, my husband and I went to go see The Dark Knight. Between the explosions and fight scenes and the general oh-my-gosh-Heath-Ledger-is-amazing-and-gone-forever I realized, this is actually a really thought-provoking film. I won’t ruin it for you, but go see it and reflect: where is the line when one crosses over into revenge, preemptive violence, and retaliation? Should one ever cross that line? When have the characters gone too far? Which ones, if any, embody Christ’s Third Way of creative non-violence? (and, to apply to American foreign policy, shake, pour over ice, and discuss)

This is why I should go to the movies Saturday nights. Sermon fodder.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah, I figured I may have a sermon out of it, but I think I was emotionally numb by the end of the movie. So no sermon this week.

    Next week? No promises!

    And yes, it was awesome.

  2. Quite. Emotional, dark, sermon-inspiring, and awesome.

    Becca

Leave a Reply

