Announcements, anouncements

Having (tearfully) made the announcement in church this morning, I can now tell all of you that it is the intention of Bishop Hassinger and the Cabinet of Troy Conference to appoint me to Trinity United Methodist Church in Montpelier and Grace United Methodist Church in Plainfield, Vermont, effective September 1.

Clearly, there were a great number of tears this morning at the conclusion of the service, not a few of them my own.

Perhaps equally clearly (for anyone who knows me and/or Montpelier), I am very excited about this. My family and I are going to love living in Montpelier and I think there’s exciting ministry to be done there and in Plainfield. I’ll be closer to my mom and my sister-in-law and brother-in-law, and hopefully (soon) my sister and her husband will wind their way back, too.

I gave a kick-butt sermon, too, about something entirely different, but I don’t know that I could have been as honest without the freedom that comes from a tiny bit of exciting behavior.

Of course, not many people will remember the sermon (so listen online!), since I made The Announcement after that.

4 Responses

  1. Becca,
    Please know that my thoughts and prayers were with you on Sunday. It is difficult to share that you are being reappointed, but I think you did it beautifully. If you weren’t emotional, it would have shown that you didn’t care. I bawled when sharing with my congregations up north that I was coming down here. Just keep reminding them of the positives, that their next pastor will have different gifts and graces and that is ok. You give them permission to like their next pastor and that is not being unfaithful to you. But you also need to be clear to do a clean break. Don’t come back to do weddings, funerals, baptisms (at least for a year). Much love!

  2. […] Announcements, anouncements […]

  3. Wow … I just came across your blog! I grew up in Calais, which is a stone’s throw from Plainfield and Montpelier. I live in Virginia now … but you’ll love the area. It’s wonderful.

  4. @sonja,

    Hooray for another Vermonter! I grew up in the Northeast Kingdom (I went to Lyndon Institute), but I know Montpelier pretty well. It will be fun to see it with an adult’s eyes, rather than a high schooler’s.

    Welcome to my blog and thanks for reading and commenting!

    Becca

Leave a Reply

