Murphy’s Law Sunday

Well, I posted my most recent sermon, Handful of Sparrows. Sermons are now in 64kb, which means longer download time for anyone on dialup, but a more standard podcast quality. Which of course means you can hear my mic feedback at a higher quality now. Yeah, sorry about that.

Some Sundays the world just seems not to want things to go well. Microphone problems and PowerPoint problems were in full force. I felt distracted and out of sorts, and still a bit mopey. Maybe it was the weather, because a tremendous thunderstorm erupted about a third of the way into the sermon.

I’m never sure. Should one interpret thunder claps as applause or dissent when one is preaching?

I’m bloody exhausted.Thankyou thankyou thankyou for Sabbath Mondays.

6 Responses

  1. Thunder claps = applause
    Lightning hits steeple = dissent

  2. Sabbath Monday????? Sunday isn’t even Sabbath. Sabbath is Friday sundown to Saturday sundown. It is the day of rest prescribed by Yahweh. Take that prescription, apply it by faith and realize real rest. Thunderclaps could be a warning, I don’t know for sure, but I believe one day the church steeples, in all their pagan glory, will be brought down. HE is serious about pagan idolatry in HIS body and will and is judging it.

  3. @Tom,
    I laughed out loud at your comment! Thanks; I’ll try to keep those straight. Our church doesn’t have a steeple– if lightning strikes, I guess it would just come right on down to the altar…

    @Banner Kid,
    I’m not sure I understand the intention behind your comment. I would suggest that if you are upset with a less-than-literal reading of Torah, you may not want to read the blog of a liberal protestant pastor. As I say in my bio page, I welcome comments and discussion, but ask that it remain constructive. I’d be glad to have a dialogue about interpretations of Sabbath and how we observe Sabbath in different contexts, but I prefer not to engage in pointless arguments and name-calling. As I said above, my church doesn’t have a steeple, but I hardly think that exempts us from your accusations of paganism and faithlessness.

    Blessings on the journey,
    Becca

  4. I didn’t “name call.” Where was name calling. And since when is calling people to repentance to Scripture not constructive. It appears that you are preaching protestantism, whatever that is, instead of the gospel and you are pretty insecure in your position or else you would address the issues I’ve raised.

  5. @Banner Kidd,
    I thought I was pretty clear about my objections to your comment earlier.

    I took your statement, “I believe one day the church steeples, in all their pagan glory, will be brought down. HE is serious about pagan idolatry in HIS body and will and is judging it,” to be an inference that you were calling churches and the people who worship in them pagan and idolatrous. I do not find that to be in the spirit of open dialogue.

    As I said earlier, I intend this blog to be a place for honest expression and open sharing of ideas, which is why I welcome your comments, even though I disagree with them. But please understand that my reading of Scripture may not be the same as yours. In fact, I think one of the gifts of Scripture is that it speaks to different people in different ways. The good news (gospel) of God’s love for humanity is one of liberation and transformation. In that reading/preaching of the gospel, I understand Sabbath to be a gift to free us from the clutter and baggage of the world around us and call us back to an awareness of God’s ever-presence. I am confident that this interpretation of the gospel is one of many life-giving and transformative ways to understand God’s conversation with humanity.

    I don’t know what issues you think your comment raised that you would like me to address, other than how we might interpret the Sabbath. Again I would stress to you that you and I read Scripture in different ways, so your call to “repentance to Scripture” may not be part of how I understand God; I do not believe that Scripture exists as a set of rules, but as a vision of who we are to be in God.

    Hope that helps clarify.
    Peace,
    Becca

  6. Becca,
    You and I may see it differently. But what is important is how HE sees it. We can only know that by what HE has established in HIS Torah – HIS loving Instruction to HIS creation. Otherwise it is simply left up to frail humanity to define who Yahweh is. It is like the clay pot defining the potter who created it from a lump of clay, even though it has no life in and of itself. -Banner

Leave a Reply

