You Who Come to Me Will Not Hunger

I received one piece of really exciting news yesterday. For a while, I have wanted to join our Conference’s Theological Diversity Team, a group of people who will be discussing our differing opinions on human sexuality in particular and scriptural authority in a more general sense. There was a written application to serve on this team, and out of the I-don’t-know-how-many people who applied, I was selected as one of the new team members. I have wanted to be on this team since I entered the Conference, because I think it’s a place where so real headway can be made. Not that we’ll go far to change each others’ minds–and I was pretty upfront about that (I for one and not willing to have *my* mind changed, to be convinced that gay people are by definition living in sin, for example), but I think we can begin to talk about finding ways to be a church together living in our differences. Since this is something that I want to talk about locally, too, I’m really excited. So now, on a Conference level, I’m on the Theological Diversity Team and the leadership board for the Methodist Federation for Social Action, in addition to the Communications Team (which I’ve been on for the past two years). I was bored being on just the Comm team, and so I’m really excited to get my hands in someplace that speaks to me a bit more.

I also thought I had another pretty good sermon this week, although I didn’t get as many comments about it. I liked the take on the “Bread of Life,” (it’s kind of hard to find lots of new stuff to say about it), using John’s theology to rethink Communion, making it less about Jesus’ death and more about his life. This is a little liberty that I take every month with the liturgy for Communion; I always say something about Jesus’ life, ministry, death, and resurrection, where the liturgy in the book mentions only the last two. And now, with Johannine Eucharistic theology at my back (and what a vocabulary!), I feel like I have a theological leg to stand on.

One Response

  1. You probably already figured this out…but I thought I would share it with you anyway. The standard Great Thanksgiving of the UMC (in the Hymnal beginning on p. 9) says: “….blessed is your Son Jesus Christ. Your Spirit anointed him to preach good news to the poor, to proclaim release to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, and to announce that the time had come….He healed the sick, fed the hungry, and ate with sinners.” So, there you have lots of stuff about Jesus’ life, not just his death. Just thought I’d point it out.

    Peace
    Chris

Leave a Reply

