My first Christmas

In hindsight, Christmas Eve wasn’t that bad.

There were lots of glitches, to be sure. Like the part where the organist skipped right over the message and started playing the next hymn. I still don’t think she noticed this mistake, and I won’t be the one to tell her. All 130 people present, however, couldn’t have missed the pastor desperately flapping her arms at the nearly-deaf organist, trying to call her off. I then diverted my attention to the next reader, who I *did* manage to call off, and snuck my message into the service. Minor detail. But other than that, it went pretty well.

The sanctuary looked exactly as I had hoped, and although there were a lot of nay-sayers before the service (“Pastor, don’t you think the altar looks a little… ugly?”), I think they got the point by the end. It’s a *barn* folks. The black and brown and hay-covered motif is supposed to be ugly. And the stars on my dome-shaped ceiling made it look like a planetarium, complete with the Star of Bethlehem, and occasional lyrics and woodcuts to augment the service. I think it worked, and I got a lot of compliments.

Sunday’s service was small and short and both organist and pastor left exhausted.

Leave a Reply

