Diary of a Delegate: Day One- of Worship and Wordsmithing

Altar during opening worship

The first day of General Conference was a wild and fun ride for me (watch here).

I’m an extrovert (obligatory pause while everyone who has ever met me offers a snide comment) and a church nerd (ditto), so I think I’m made to love certain aspects of General Conference. It’s wonderful to see so many friends– people I’ve met before and people I’ve only known “virtually” until now. Thanks to everyone who recognized me in my hot pink sunglasses and came up to say hi! You made my day.

I spent lunchtime in the Common Witness Coalition tabernacle, where I could live for all 10 days. Love it. More importantly, it is the place to feel beloved. Thank you for this deep blessing, Coalition.

As a pastor, it is rare that I get to really sit and absorb worship. Well, sit is the wrong word. I like to stand and jump around and dance during worship. Yes, even in 2″ heels. And Cry. I don’t like to cry, but when it’s a really good worship service I do. My borrowed hankie is getting lots of use, and fortunately, I’m in good company.

Outside the Tabernacle

Opening worship was amazing. Our worship leader, Marcia McFee, gifted us with powerful words, images, and music, woven together into a multi-lingual, multi-cultural, multisensory worship experience. Singing and praying and breaking bread with 4700 people from all over the world is an experience like no other. The colors alone are stunning– the richness of fabrics and visuals; the sounds are humbling– languages I recognize and ones I don’t; the taste of bread and juice is ever and always God’s grace.

I thought to myself during worship “How can it go wrong from here?”

I knew that we wouldn’t stay at the high of the worship service– it’s not possible to stay there all day, let alone for ten days. And first up were the rules.

Now, rules are important. I know I often talk like I want to burn down the house of structure and regulation, but rules form how we operate so that we can operate. The question is whether or not our rules free us for action or constrict and restrict us. One positive outcome was the passage (by a decisive 82% vote) of rules 26 and 27, which change the way we will handle substitute petitions and minority reports, focusing our time on the one motion that we will vote upon. This closes a sort of legislative loophole that resulted in the failure without debate of the majority report from the Church and Society B committee on human sexuality four years ago.

Preaching inclusion outside the convention center

However, there was an ugly undercurrent to the discussion of the rules.

In no less than three places, delegates raised proposed amendments to prohibit recessing or adjourning the conference session to allow for demonstrations or actions of conscience. In a clear response to last General Conference’s prophetic demonstration by SoulForce– an act that was not broadcast on the livestream, much to my disappointment as I watched from afar– members of the church are seeking to prohibit the expression of distension, as if the fear of being ruled out of order, removed from the premises, or even imprisoned can stop those who seek justice and inclusion (hasn’t before!). As I tweeted last night, we may as well amend the rules to state that those not engaged in changing money be barred from the temple court, lest they overturn tables.

I sincerely hope that these proposed amendments fail and fail spectacularly.

Whether they fail or not, however, I know that the powerful and faithful witness of all working for full inclusion will continue and will one day prevail. Look at how scared people are of voices of dissent! What a powerful witness our sisters and brothers made four years ago that the very thought causes people to tremble today! Persist, church!

 

6 Responses

  1. Alas for you, laywers and pharisees………. May the Holy Spirit sweep down with the power of conviction and the hope of redemption, repentance, and reconciliation.
    Thank you, Becca.

  2. […] that rules discussion, I noted that the new language of Rules 26 and 27 passed by an 82% margin.  As my “secret agent” Pastor Becca notes, these rules change how the General […]

  3. Thanks, Becca! Keep these updates coming!

  4. Many cars ago you had a bumper sticker that read “I have come to comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable” or something to that effect. I think it is the job of the church to keep us disturbed and uncomfortable. It is not our job to spoon feed pablum to the mouths of psychological infants. Church is not in the business of handing out easy answers to the difficult issues in living life. We are in the business of sitting (or standing) beside and holding hands with those among us who dare to step forward in their lives – who say “yes, Lord, take me, here I am” before they even know what is requested and required of them.
    These brave faithful (note that I do not refer to them as believers) are our church, our families. They are the ones we timidly follow, crouching behind them in pseudo-support. And when we dare to be those who say yes, when we feel naked and alone in our faith (the act of believing and stepping up in the total absence of any evidence or supporting logic) that’s when we need others (secretly tweeting us to say “you go girl”) who love this quest as much as we do.
    Poets and actors and “real” ministers are the pioneers of humanity. They are the only ones who dare live in liminal space – on the threshold of the defined and undefined world. It is a sacred place and an even more sacred job.
    Someone has to do it – might as well be us.
    I love you!

  5. well said, Becca…and well said, Kris!!!

  6. […] that rules discussion, I noted that the new language of Rules 26 and 27 passed by an 82% margin.  As my “secret agent” Pastor Becca notes, these rules change how the General […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 970 other followers

