Thinking like an Introvert

Many people who know me are surprised to learn that on a Myers-Briggs test, I am actually an extrovert by only a small margin. While it’s true that I love to be around people and have no fear of speaking in front of crowds, and often process all of my thoughts and feelings right out in the open, I also sometimes behave a little more like an introvert. Sometimes I get overwhelmed with the constant stimulation of being around people, or need to recharge my batteries by curling up with a good book for a few hours. And sometimes, although this is rare, I need to process thoughts not by talkig/blogging them out, but by sitting with them for a time.

That’s what I’ve been doing. Thinking. Thinking like an introvert. I’ve been reading and pacing and pondering, and not doing much writing. Healthy and necessary, but it doesn’t make for a very interesting blog!

I attended a confernece for three days last week about the church’s role in the environmental crisis and response, and I have a lot to say about it, I think. I’m just taking my time thinking about it first.

So, after a large funeral tomorrow (which I spent my day off preparing for), after I pick my daughter up from preschool and take her to the polls with me for an exciting and historic vote, I’ll have some time to put words to my thoughts. Maybe while I’m waiting for the election results to come in, or maybe Wednesday while I’m taking time off. But soon. Really. Because this is something I think the church should be doing yesterday.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 969 other followers